Home  |  Contact Us  |  News Archive
About Southwest Florida Paralegal Association, Inc. Calendar of Events Continuing Education Job Bank Resource Links
Board of Directors
The following members constitute our board of directors for 2021

April D. Emery, CP, FRP | President
April is a Sarasota native. She graduated from the University of South Florida with a B.A. degree in business and previously earned an A.A. degree in paralegal studies from Manatee Community College (now known as State College of Florida). She loves her job working as an estate and trust litigation paralegal for the firm of Spivey & Huss, P.A. She has been a member of SWFPA since 2014 and has served on various committees. She believes in putting two spaces after a period.


Joanne Mac Nicol, CP, FRP | Vice President
Joanne grew up in Manatee County as the youngest of 7 kids and is a graduate of Manatee High School. She graduated from the Paralegal Program at Sarasota Technical in 1998 and has worked in Criminal Law since that time. She works at McIntosh law with three attorneys, handling cases from the simple traffic ticket to murder cases, as well as professional state licensure disputes. She lives in Sarasota with her dog, Stevie, and two cats, Jr. and Diego. She enjoys NASCAR and drag racing; she also belongs to Hope City Church and volunteers in the toddler room during services. Before becoming a paralegal, Joanne was a restaurant manager for Taco Bell for 10 years and ran multiple stores.


Justy Hibbard, FRP | Secretary
Justy graduated from St. Petersburg Junior College (now St. Petersburg College) with an A.S. degree in paralegal studies. Justy has worked in the legal field for approximately 30 years focusing on primarily defense civil litigation with brief stints in family law and labor and employment law. Justy currently works for the City of St. Petersburg in the Legal Department working mainly with the Executive Assistant City Attorney. Justy is a Florida Registered Paralegal and served on the Florida Registered Paralegal Enrichment Committee. Justy and her husband are originally from Pennsylvania and have three grown daughters and four grandchildren.


Michelle Taylor, FRP, CTFA | Treasurer
Michelle is currently a Wealth Management Trust Advisor for Northern Trust. Originally from Michigan, she graduated from Western Michigan University with a B.S. in Biology and Chemistry, from MCC (now SCF) with an A.S. in Paralegal Studies, and from the University of South Florida with a B.S. in Political Science. She worked as a trusts and estates paralegal for Williams Parker for 17 years and has extensive experience in trusts and estates, guardianships, and estate tax.


Denette Olson, Paralegal | NALA Liaison
Denette is currently a paralegal for McKillop Law Firm and Hertz Lichtenstein Young & Polk, LLP. Originally from California, she will graduate with an A.S. degree in Paralegal Studies from State College of Florida in May 2021. She has extensive experience in corporate transactions, civil litigation, estate planning, and probate.


Lisa Ellis, CP | FAPA Delegate
Lisa works in the Legal Department at Roper Technologies, Inc., a publicly traded company headquartered in Lakewood Ranch. Originally from Wisconsin, Lisa completed her A.S. degree in Paralegal Studies at State College of Florida in Bradenton and attained her Certified Paralegal credential through NALA in 2013.


Pamala S. Roberts, RP, FRP | FAPA Delegate
Pamala, a graduate of Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, Kentucky with a B.S. in Systems Management and a minor in Criminology. She also has an A.S. in Paralegal Studies from Daymar College. With over 20 years of paralegal experience working in law firms in Kentucky and Florida. Pamala is currently a Paralegal for the Manatee County Attorney's Office. She is also currently a member of the South Florida Paralegal Association, NFPA, and NALA.


Past Presidents:

1998-1999 Susan L. Levine f/k/a Susan Hauck, ACP

2000-2001 Laura Herald, CP

2002 Jane Gill, CP

2003-2004 Geraldine "Gerri" Mills, CP

2005-2006 Sarah "Sally” Taylor, CP

2007-2008 MaryLou DiMaggio, CP, FRP

2009-2010 Sonja L. Behn, FRP

2011-2012 Annette Zang, CP, FRP

2013-2014 Ellen Wile, ACP, FRP

2015-2016 Tamara W. "Tammy” Skonie, ACP, FRP

2017-2018 Lisa M. Ellis, CP

2019-2020 Pamala Roberts, RP, FRP